# January 2017 APPA U in Dallas!

By Corey Newman

PPA U recently wrapped up in Dallas, Texas, showcasing another successful professional development gathering of the Institute for Facilities Management and the Leadership Academy. Colleagues from around the globe were welcomed to learn, network, and collaborate.

We are grateful for the dedicated faculty who make these offerings such a success. A special note of thanks goes to Institute Deans, **Mary Vosevich**, **Chris Smeds**, **Lynne Finn**, and **Don Guckert**; our Academy Faculty, **Glenn Smith**, **Michelle Frederick**, **Shawna Code**, **Lindsay Wagner**, **Matt Adams**, **Viron Lynch**, **Ana Thiemer**, and **Chuck Farnsworth**; and our Graduate Program instructors, **Chuck Scott** and **Jim Jackson**.

Throughout the week, students had opportunities to interact with experts who brought their knowledge and experience from vast backgrounds and provided a rich environment for all attendees. Approximately 450 facilities professionals from across the United States, Canada, and Mexico attended. We welcomed 79 first-time attendees, proving that APPA's popularity in the profession continues to grow! As the week drew to a close, we celebrated with graduation ceremonies for the class of January 2017 (including 87 new alumni).

A big kudos to all of those institutional leaders who supported the professional development of their staff! The professional development of any individuals must be as customizable as the individuals themselves, and APPA is here to help everyone achieve their personal, organizational, and institutional goals. Please visit *http://www.appa.org/training/trainingcalendar.cfm* for more on all of APPA's program offerings. (§)

Corey Newman is APPA's associate director of professional development and can be reached at *corey@appa.org.* 



**INSTITUTE GRADUATES >>** 

Photos by Rhonda Hole

## ACADEMY GRADUATES

Christopher Adams, *Capstone Management* Lee Beard, *University of North Carolina at Charlotte* Pete Beaulieu, *Illinois State University* John Bernhards, *APPA* Dennis Coakley, *University of Vermont* Kirk Conger, *University of Nebraska—Lincoln* Danielle Cranston, *Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority* Chip Fehr, *University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill* John Fields, *East Carolina University* Kellie Fletcher, *Savannah State University* Brenda Flores, *California Baptist University* Jim Ganieany, *Illinois State University* Brett Garrett, *The Ohio State University* Rusty Hamilton, *Iowa State University* Rusty Hamilton, *San Diego State University* 

#### In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured.

Lilian Hamoush, American University of Beirut Luce Hillman, University of Vermont Thomas Hockensmith, University of Maryland Baltimore Michael Hodnefield, University of Regina Jeffrey Loss, Bucknell University Jeff Marcinkowski, Grand Valley State University Markus McEaddy, American University Angela Meyer, Southeast Missouri State University Angie Mitchell, Southeast Missouri State University Sandra Montgomery, University of Michigan—Ann Arbor Robert Ramirez, Texas Woman's University Kenneth Riebert, University of Maryland College Park Donia Schauble, University of North Carolina at Charlotte Joe'lle Webster, Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority

## INSTITUTE GRADUATES

Robert Aldrich, Miss Hall's School Jeff Anderson, University of Puget Sound Mark Barcus, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Sondia Barner, Emory University Erik Cagle, Pennsylvania State University Douglas Calder, Fanshawe College Mark Carmody, Montgomery College Christopher Cox, University of Colorado Boulder Robert Crowder, Emory University Lisa Curley, Pennsylvania State University Kendra Davis, East Carolina University Joe De La Rosa, Pima Community College Alvaro De Sousa, California State University-East Bay Steven DellaBetta, University of Iowa Debra Di Meo, University of Texas at Austin Raymond Doner, University of Vermont Michael Enos, University of Vermont Seth Gilmore, Weber State University Becky Guelig, University of Wisconsin-Madison Dustin Hill, Miami University William Jalbert, Temple University/Housing Garth Jones, University of La Verne Anthony Khalil, Delta College Rob Kleisinger, University of Regina Alice Maxwell, University of Maryland Baltimore Jonathan Meendering, South Dakota State University Constance Meyer, University of Texas at Austin Alexis Michaud, University of Ottawa Barry Mielke, South Dakota State University

### In alphabetical order; not all graduates are pictured.

Aaron Minnis, Michigan State University Shirley Mitchell, University of New Mexico Jesus Ojeda, Glendale Community College/Arizona Paul Patterson, University of Alabama in Huntsville Kris Pruismann, Iowa State University John Reilly, Michigan State University Ken Revell, Florida State University Michele Rudovsky, San Mateo County Community College District Lauren Schmidt, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Justin Selby, University of Guelph Guy Shane, University of Vermont/Custodial Services Debra Shepherd, North Carolina State University Patti Soskins, University of Texas at Austin Lourdes Sousa Combe, Universidad Panamerican, Campus Mexico Marc St-Amour, University of Ottawa Rachel Stone, University of New Mexico Robert Tandy, University of Iowa Michael Taylor, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology Mary Jane Thompson, Salt Lake Community College Dale Townsley, Texas Tech University Jay Uthoff, Luther College Rick Viaene, Portland State University Michael Viola, Saint Mary's College of California Margaret Vogel, University of Iowa Robert Wall, University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Danny Whitaker, University of Vermont Chet Wieland, University of Iowa Wendy Wooten, Wake Forest University Steve Yeadon, Reed College